Resources

NATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS AND RESOURCES

 

AARP http://www.aarp.org/

 

Alzheimer’s’ Association http://www.alz.org/

 

American Society on Aging http://www.asaging.org/

 

American Heart Association National Parkinson Foundation http://www.parkinson.org/

 

National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys https://www.naela.org/

 

National Organization on Disability http://nod.org/disability_resources/

 


 

LOCAL GROUPS AND RESOURCES

 

Villages

 

(Cabin John, Chevy Chase at Home, Little Falls Village, Potomac Community Village, Silver Spring Village, Town of Garrett Park Senior Committee, Village of Takoma Park)

 

http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/HHS-Program/ADS/Villages/villageslist.html

 

Montgomery County Commission on Aging http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/HHS-Program/ADS/COA/COAindex.html

 

Department of Health and Human Services for Montgomery County, Maryland http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/HHS/ProgramIndex/SeniorServicesindex.html 

 

Grass Roots Organization for the Well-being of Seniors (GROWS) http://growsmc.org/

 


 

WEB RESOURCES AND ARTICLES

 

Alzheimer’s Information

 

10 Early Signs and Symptoms of Alzheimer’s  http://www.alz.org/alzheimers_disease_10_signs_of_alzheimers.asp

 

Home Care for Individuals with Alzheimer’s  https://www.caring.com/alzheimers-home-care

 

Alzheimer’s Disease Research  http://www.brightfocus.org/alzheimers/

 

Alzheimer’s therapy products  http://www.alzstore.com/Default.asp

 

HBO Documentary: The Alzheimer’s Project  http://www.hbo.com/alzheimers/the-films.html

 

 

Caregiver Support and Information

 

Caregiver Support and Help  http://www.helpguide.org/articles/caregiving/caregiving-support-and-help.htm

 

How to Handle an Elderly Parent’s Bad Behavior?  https://www.agingcare.com/Articles/bad-behavior-by-elderly-parents-138673.htm

 

Caregiver Support Groups  https://www.caregiver.org/support-groups

 

Caregiver Self- Assessment Questionnaire  http://www.healthinaging.org/resources/resource:caregiver-self-assessment/

 

COPD

 

Understanding COPD  http://www.copdfoundation.org/What-is-COPD/Understanding-COPD/What-is-COPD.aspx

 

Exercise and COPD  http://www.alliancehhcare.com/resources/copd-managing-care-home/

 

Living with COPD  http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/copd/livingwith

 

Lifestyle changes to help manage COPD  http://www.healthline.com/health/copd/lifestyle-changes-help-manage

 

 

Healthy Living for Seniors

 

Healthy Aging  https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/healthyaging.html

 

Exercise for Older Adults  http://nihseniorhealth.gov/exerciseforolderadults/healthbenefits/01.html

 

Healthy Eating for Older Adults  http://www.helpguide.org/articles/healthy-eating/eating-well-as-you-age.htm

 

Delicious Healthy Recipes  http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/recipes

 

 

Heart Disease Information

 

What is heart disease?  http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/heart-disease/basics/definition/con-20034056

 

Assess your cholesterol  http://www.webmd.com/cholesterol-management/cholesterol-assessment/default.htm

 

Exercise and Activity after heart surgery http://www.uwhealth.org/healthfacts/cardiology/5801.html

 

Heart Disease Prevention  http://test.kcms.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/heart-disease/in-depth/heart-disease-prevention/art-20046502

 

 

Fall Prevention – Modifying your Home

 

Information about Falling  http://www.cdc.gov/HomeandRecreationalSafety/Falls/adultfalls.html

 

Causes and Risk factors for falling  http://nihseniorhealth.gov/falls/causesandriskfactors/01.html

 

Fall Prevention Tips  http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/healthy-aging/in-depth/fall-prevention/art-20047358

 

PERS – Personal Emergency Response System  http://www.caregiver.com/channels/tech/articles/PERS_faqs.htm

Contact Us


captcha